Peacock Feather + Rustic Wedding

I have talked a little bit about my wedding. I wanted to give you a look to what it turned out to be. I submitted my wedding on StyleMePretty. I was looking for a place for the bride to submit on TheKnot.com, but I can’t find it (please comment if you have a link!). So photography credit goes to the wonderful Janne Photography. Here is what I submitted as a description for my wedding.

Jordan and I got married September 6th, 2015. This was also our 10 year anniversary of being together. November 1, 2013, Jordan I went to this little spot in Cincinnati, Ohio that overlooked the city. Just a casual night, waiting for time to pass before meeting up with friends. Before I knew it, Jordan was on one knee, PROPOSING! I had no idea this was coming, but was thrilled it happened! That winter, my mother and mother in law started wedding planning. We visited our outdoor venue when it had snow on the ground and booked it. Taste tested caterers and cakes and attended a bridal expo.

I decided to go with a peacock feather + rustic + DIY theme. I used a lot of browns and burlap with pops of peacock feathers, purples, and teals. We decided to shop for china plates at thrift stores for the guests to eat on. So out we went visiting any and every thrift store we could find about once a month until we had 300+ china plates. While searching for plates, we also looked for brooches. I created my own brooch bouquet, using both new and thrifted brooches. I designed the girls’ bouquets, starting with a large burlap flower as a base and purple hydrangeas. I added pops of teal fabric flowers and gold sparkle flowers, and topped it off with a peacock feather coming out the side. We took all these extra flowers and tossed them around inside the wire baskets for our flower girls. I loved the idea of personalization and originality. My dad made us a bench, which doubled as our guest book that we can keep forever. Being a graphic designer, I designed all of our stationary for the wedding (save the dates, invitations, signs, etc). The invitations were a booklet, with different information per section. The last page was a perforated postcard to make it easy for guests to RSVP.

Update: I was quickly denied as a featured wedding from Style Me Pretty 😦

Jordanielle-002Jordanielle-007

Jordanielle-506 Jordanielle-Invitation-012 Jordanielle-Invitation-001 Jordanielle-010 Jordanielle-064Jordanielle-193Jordanielle-154

Jordanielle-046 Jordanielle-049

Jordanielle-017 Jordanielle-015

 

Leave a Reply

